Agenda and minutes

Governance Committee - Thursday, 10th September, 2015 8.00 pm

Venue: Town Hall, Main Road, Romford

Contact: Grant Soderberg tel: 01708 433091  e-mail:  grant.soderberg@onesource,

No. Item


MINUTES pdf icon PDF 357 KB

To approve as a correct record the minutes of the Committee held on 1 July 2015, and to authorise the Chairman to sign them.


The minutes of the meeting held on 1 July 2015 were agreed as a true record and signed by the Chairman.



Changes to delegated powers - Regulatory Services pdf icon PDF 196 KB


On 1 July, the committee deferred decision on this item, in particular the proposed change to Section 3.6.6 (b) (vi) for clarification on development in the Green Belt.  In addition it was further proposed to change Section 3.6.6 (u) in relation to Certificates of Lawful Development for existing development. Following a review, the Head of Regulatory Services had identified one area of operational activity – power to deal with deliberate concealment of planning breaches which would benefit materially from changes to delegated powers to enable more effective and efficient service delivery.  Due to a change in legislation a change to the wording of power to enter into S106 obligations was also recommended.


A Member continued to raise concerns about the necessity of delegating powers to officers – particularly in the Green Belt where issues could be contentious.  The matter was put to the vote:


In favour of the motion: Councillors: Joshua Chapman, Roger Ramsey, Melvin Wallace, Damian White, Meg Davis, Osman Dervish, Clarence Barrett, Ray Morgon, Barry Mugglestone, Darren Wise and Lawrence Webb


Against the motion: Councillor: David Durant


The motion was CARRIED by eleven votes to one.


The Committee RESOLVED to recommend to Council that the following changes be incorporated into Section 3.6.6 of the Constitution relating to the Head of Regulatory Services.


1)         New Section 3.6.6(cc) to read:


“To apply to the magistrates court for a Planning Enforcement Order in accordance with Sections 171BA to 171BC of the Town and Country Planning Act 1990.”


2)         Section 3.6.6(b) (vi) be altered to:


"carry out residential development where the number of additional dwellings does not exceed two, including proposals which require prior completion of a Unilateral Undertaking committing the applicant to pay a contribution to mitigate the impact of the development on infrastructure, the latter involving liaison during the process between Head of Regulatory Services and Head of Legal Services."


3)         Section 3.6.6(u) be altered to:


“To issue Certificates of Lawfulness for existing and proposed development and use”





The report before Members seeks agreement to return duties for the administration of the Romford Combined Charity from HAVCO back to Havering Council.


A Member raised asked whether it could be confirmed that any cost to the Council would be reimbursed so that the work of administering it was cost neutral to the Council.  On assurance that this would be confirmed,


The Committee AGREED:


That the Council would assume administrative responsibility for the Romford Combined Charity following the withdrawal of the provision of that service by HAVCO subject to confirmation being received that to do so would be cost neutral to the Council.





The report before the Committee invited it to consider two outside body appointments and make or confirm nominations as appropriate.


A vacancy had occurred on the Hornchurch Housing Trust following the resignation of Mr Ted Eden and the Committee was informed that three candidates had been put forward to fill that vacancy the remaining term of office to expire in February 2017.  They were:


Mr David Williams - nominated by the Hornchurch Housing Trust


Councillor John Mylod - nominated by the Residents’ Group


Councillor Carol Smith - nominated by the Conservative Group


The Chairman invited Members to indicate their support for each candidate.


Mr David Williams received no votes, Councillor John Mylod received four votes and Councillor Carol Smith received eight votes.


Councillor Carol Smith was therefore declared duly appointed.


There was also a vacancy on Tapestry (formerly Age Concern), following the resignation of Councillor Viddy Persaud. 


Councillor Wendy Brice-Thompson had been nominated to fill this vacancy and, as there were no objections from Members, she was duly appointed to Tapestry’s Board with immediate effect.