

## ANNUAL COUNCIL 15 May 2019

# EXPLANATORY NOTE

## APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIRMEN AND VICE-CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES

For ease of reference, the tables that follow indicate the nominations that are unopposed, and those upon which votes will be required.

**Table 1: Unopposed nominations** 

Committee	Chairman Councillor	Vice-Chairman Councillor
Adjudication and Review (2 Vice- Chairmen)	Matt Sutton	Timothy Ryan     Ray Best
Audit	Martin Goode	Viddy Persaud
Governance	Position contested – see table 3.	Position contested – see table 3.
Highways Advisory	Brian Eagling	John Mylod
Licensing (3 Vice-Chairmen)	Philippa Crowder	Bob Perry     Christine Smith     Christine Vickery
Pensions	John Crowder	Martin Goode
Planning	Position contested – see table 3.	Position contested – see table 3.
Strategic Planning	Dilip Patel	Position contested – see table 3.
Joint Venture Working Party	Position contested – see table 3.	Position contested – see table 3.

#### Annual Council, 15 May 2019

Overview and Scrutiny Board	Darren Wise	Position contested – see table 3.
Children and Learning Overview and Scrutiny Sub- Committee	Position contested – see table 3.	Position contested – see table 3.
Crime & Disorder Sub-Committee	Position contested – see table 3.	Matt Sutton
Environment Overview and Scrutiny Sub- Committee	Position contested – see table 3.	John Mylod
Health Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee	Position contested – see table 3.	Ciaran White
Individuals Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee	Position contested – see table 3.	Michael White
Towns and Communities Overview and Scrutiny Sub- Committee	Position contested – see table 2.	Position contested- see table 3.

### **Sub-Committee of the Governance Committee:**

Appointments	Christine Vickery	Robert Benham

## Table 2: Opposed nominations where there are three nominees

## A. Chairman of Towns and Communities Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor	Labour Group nominee Councillor	Conservative Group nominee Councillor
Chris Wilkins	Keith Darvill	Ray Best

## Table 3: Opposed nominations where there are <u>two</u> nominees:

#### A. Chairman of Governance Committee

Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor	Conservative Group nominee Councillor
Linda Hawthorn	Michael White

#### **B. Vice-Chairman of Governance Committee**

Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor	Conservative Group nominee Councillor
Linda Hawthorn*	Robert Benham

<sup>\*</sup>Unless elected as Chairman.

### C. Chairman of Planning Committee

Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor	Conservative Group nominee Councillor
John Tyler	Robby Misir

### D. Vice-Chairman of Planning Committee

Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor	Conservative Group nominee Councillor
John Tyler*	Carol Smith

<sup>\*</sup>Unless elected as Chairman.

## E. Vice-Chairman of Strategic Planning Committee

Labour Group nominee	Conservative Group nominee
Councillor	Councillor
Keith Darvill	Tim Ryan

## F. Chairman of Joint Venture Working Party

Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor	Conservative Group nominee Councillor
Ron Ower	Ciaran White

## G. Vice-Chairman of Joint Venture Working Party

Labour Group nominee Councillor	Conservative Group nominee Councillor
Paul McGeary	John Crowder

### H. Vice-Chairman of Overview and Scrutiny Board

Labour Group nominee	Conservative Group nominee
Councillor	Councillor
Keith Darvill	Maggie Themistocli

#### I. Chairman of Children and Learning Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor	Conservative Group nominee Councillor
Gillian Ford	Judith Holt

## J. Vice-Chairman of Children and Learning Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor	Conservative Group nominee Councillor
Gillian Ford*	Christine Vickery

<sup>\*</sup>Unless elected as Chairman.

#### K. Chairman of Crime and Disorder Sub-Committee

Labour Group nominee Councillor	Conservative Group nominee Councillor
Tele Lawal	Bob Perry

#### L. Chairman of Environment Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Labour Group nominee Councillor	Conservative Group nominee Councillor
Carole Beth	Maggie Themistocli

#### M. Chairman of Health Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Labour Group nominee	Conservative Group nominee
Councillor	Councillor
Denis O'Flynn	Nisha Patel

#### N. Chairman of Individuals Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Labour Group nominee	Conservative Group nominee
Councillor	Councillor
Paul McGeary	Christine Smith

## O. Vice-Chairman of Towns and Communities Overview and Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Upminster & Cranham Residents' Associations Group nominee Councillor	Conservative Group nominee Councillor
Chris Wilkins*	Robby Misir

<sup>\*</sup>Unless elected as Chairman.